£18.00 GBP

An account already exists with this email address. Is this you?

Sign in

ffoice Story Club Session 12

Wednesday 24 April 2024
8pm BST, 2pm CT, 8pm CET,
5am AEST (29 April)

Take a pint of book club, add a wedge of tutorial and a pinch of gossip and you have ffoice Story Club – fun and convenient virtual workshops where we break down what makes good food storytelling.

In our next session we're looking at Blood, Bones & Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef by Gabrielle Hamilton, which Anthony Bourdain thought 'magnificent'.

A self-taught cook, Hamilton has managed the impressive feat of earning a Michelin Bib Gourmand and James Beard Award as well as a Masters in Fiction Writing. She's also produced a NYT Bestselling cookbook, so this promises to be a meaty workshop.

What you'll get:

  • an engaging deep-dive into a memoir that The New York Times says is 'rhapsodic about food in every detail' yet 'not just for foodies'.
  • lively discussion with other people who write (or want to write) about food and cooking and want to get better at it
  • ongoing access to the workshop replay and lesson materials

ffoice Story Club combines the best aspects of book clubs and study groups in fun and convenient Zoom sessions. The cost is £18 per person per session with no obligation to sign up for other workshops.

Blood, Bones & Butter is available from your favourite digital behemoths, independent booksellers and second-hand outlets.

What People Are Saying:

I am totally IN AWE of what you do in these sessions. Such a huge amount of prep work for you, such fascinating analysis you do, so valuable in so many ways, such interesting chit chat! I SALUTE YOU. Can't wait for the next one.

Person who bought the replay

Loved every moment. Looking forward to the recording as it was packed with facts and books I would like to know more about. I found it useful to have the explanation of what different genres are, where this book fits and what that means for my own writing.

Loyal client

It was a great mix of what we had read peppered with theory (but not stuffy theory). I really didn't enjoy this book and yet I learnt so much I came away feeling rather fond of it!

Regular attendee